Box for non-techy's

lee989

Hi all (new registrant, long time squatter.. i mean reader). I apologise for yet another "which box" post, but having no experience yet, i wanted to draw on yours please :).

Essentially i need a box for my parents that's as little hassle as possible, but not costing too much. They really aren't tech savvy so ideally it needs to be a setup and leave it box, with just the occasional firmware flash that i can do when i pop in.

They have an existing Sly dish with 2 cables running from it for twin tuner, however that feature isn't absolutely required, but would be a nice possibility if they decide they want to pay for a second line.

Anyway, i've been looking at the zgemma's, however i have 2 concerns, 1 is that it's a patched image and as i have no experience wasn't sure whether that would cause more hassle tech-wise (i understand the firmware doesn't auto-update like official boxes, but does the EPG stay up to date e.c.t?), second is that i've heard that it's not as "fast" as other boxes. Once again, having no experience in this, means that i don't have any baseline for interpreting what that speed means in real life usage.

So i guess my first few questions are zgemma related:

1. Once setup, will the EPG (and whatever else) stay up to date and only the firmware need to be manually updated?
  2. How often does the firmware usually need updating on these boxes?
  3. I understand they are cheaper boxes and processing speeds will be less than more expensive hardware, but what are they like in real life usage? Do they take 10 minutes to boot up? Does it take 30 seconds to load the EPG? Or does the speed only become an issue when you start adding plugins e.c.t.?