Cable Setup Help

paul_90

Hi folks,

I'm looking to move to a cable setup and I'm thinking about going with the Mutant HD51 with dual cable tuners.

I already have internet with VM so know I have an active line.

My VM router is in a network cupboard in the hall and it's my understanding that I'd need to split the cable coming in 3 ways; one for the router and two for the Mutant HD51. Is that correct? if so would this splitter do the job? - http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Technetix...8fa5435&pid=100011&rk=3&rkt=7&sd=322545162976

As for the two cables that i now need to run to the HD51, is this just standard coax cable with F-type connections?

Lastly what image should I have the box flashed with?

All help is appreciated

Cheers.

How does the Zgemma H5.2TC stack up against the Mutant?

I'm pretty new to all this, I've used an openbox the past but playing catch up on the cable stuff. What is Oscam and does that affect where the box can be used?

Cheers.

The ZgemmaH5,2tc is ok for what your needs are m8, and it runs both CCcam & Mgcamd, which is easier for you to understand m8, it also only need 1 cable to the box, as it has an internal split tuner to give you the twin tuner set-up

How does the Zgemma H5.2TC stack up against the Mutant?

I'm pretty new to all this, I've used an openbox the past but playing catch up on the cable stuff. What is Oscam and does that affect where the box can be used?

Cheers.
Oscam is the system used for your line, I have a h5.2tc and use Oscam on it rather than cccam or mgcamd but that's down to personal choice on my part. I no nothing about the Mutant so can't comment or compare it with the h5.2tc and to be honest you will get those that prefer the Mutant and those that prefer Zgemma.

I agree with grog68, there are those who prefer a zgemma and there are those who prefer a mutant HD51.