Can Openbox / cable box work without sky dish?

dk1234

Hello

I'm new to all this, so sorry if this is quite basic stuff.

Currently my gf has Virgin Media Phone, TV and Broadband. I'm hoping I can get something like the openbox that a friend of mine has, but he has a sky dish installed. I don't have a sky dish or any other dish installed so I was wondering if I could get a box that would work with the Virgin Media wires/cables that I already have? Is such a thing possible or must I have a dish?

If I must have a dish could you recommend the ways to get one, a decent one and how much an install might cost. I'm in North London if that helps with rough prices if needed.

if you have a cable feed then it makes sense to get yourself and enigma 2 cable box...Zgemma H2 maybe you can not get satellite tv without a dish..
A complete sky dish set up is only around £25 to fit yourself this is the cheapest way...available on fleabay etc..if you cannot fit it then you find someone in your area who can and pay them...or just order the cheapest sky package for a year and get them to fit the dish etc...

Hi, Thanks for getting back to me.

My gf don't want to have a dish installed so it looks like if I try this out it will only be wit a box that uses the VM feed. I've been having a browse around and I was thinking of getting Amiko Mini Combo HD Compact as it's not that pricey or is something like the Zgemma H2 worth an extra £30-£40 over it? So just to be clear I would be able to get all VM package once I get a line from somewhere? My gf has phone, Broadband and TV, is it best to keep basic tv package or can she get rid of it. She will definitely keep the phone and broadband.

Last edited:
Thanks for the reply.