Complete Noob - Some Basic Questions

AlexD

Hi Everyone,

I have just bought my first house, and i am wanting to get going with watching some channels. The previous guy had Virgin Broadband, and there also a Dish on the rear of the house. There are cables EVERYWHERE, I had some basic questions that i couldn't really find using search, i'm sure i'm just not using the right terminology yet but here goes:

- The Virgin Line currently comes out of the ground at the front of the house, infront of the lounge window there is a Nynex box, from here it goes up the wall round the side of the house to the study where the VM Wall Box is mounted, this is ok for broadband as this is where i will want the router, but i will want another cable coming out in the lounge to have and Edison box there. So is it ok to use a splitter at the Nynex box itself and go straight into the lounge?

- Cables, i can't really seem to find much info on what cable i should be using, currently there is a standard TV antenna going into the wall outside the lounge, ideally i would want to pull that out and re-thread the VM cable in its place, but what happens at the wall on the other side? I take it you can plug it into a standard Coaxial Cable wall socket? Would i need to install another VM type box on the wall?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Alex

Hi Everyone,

I have just bought my first house, and i am wanting to get going with watching some channels. The previous guy had Virgin Broadband, and there also a Dish on the rear of the house. There are cables EVERYWHERE, I had some basic questions that i couldn't really find using search, i'm sure i'm just not using the right terminology yet but here goes: