Help me get started out with Cable :)

ruud82

So I've been using a Sly Satellite receiver (single tuner) for about 3 years now without many problems but have now switched over my internet provider to Virgin Media and have been thinking about setting up with a Cable box (mainly for HD) and have a few questions that I hope someone can help me with.

1 - Is it possible to have two cable inputs to allow watching/recording simultaneously (without using the Sky inputs)?
2 - When looking for boxes I'm seeing a lot of different abbreviations and it is very confusing trying to understand what can work for me. What letters should I be looking for? (lets just say for cable only boxes at the moment).

3 - What sort of features can you get in each price bracket? I think single tuner would be enough (it has been for 3 year) but assuming my Question 1 above is possible, can you get a whole lot more for not much more £?

4 - How easy are the boxes to set up and maintain? are they any more difficult than satellite/sky receivers.

I'll probably have a few more questions but have started out with just these ones for now. I've already had a look at splitters and the f-coax bits and pieces that I will need to amend that single cable-hub that I currently have.

Cheers

1. yes you will need 2 tuners
2. you can get a edislon o/s mini with single cable tuner for £79
3.once these boxes are set up you dont have to touch them best feature is 7 day epg
4. easy then you just update from the box.

1. yes you will need 2 tuners
2. you can get a edislon o/s mini with single cable tuner for £79
3.once these boxes are set up you dont have to touch them best feature is 7 day epg
4. easy then you just update from the box.

Thanks mate.