new cable box upgrade

Qvic

hi guys,

want to upgrade my current box ( Zgemma star H1 ) running openvix
as this doesn't allow me to record & watch 2 seperate channels , i can only record the channel i'm watching , i am on VM Cable , i only have one feed no Sat in the house

so i'm looking for advice on what to get , so far i've narrowed it down to a few boxes and was looking for some advice / answers

bear with me i'm a noob ;) , so i was initially looking at the Vu+ solo SE V2 twin tuner dvb-c
but cam across the 4K boxes which appeal to me also as for not too much more £££'s i can future-proof my investment, the following boxes are what i've narrowed it down too, not in any particular order

HD
1. Vu+ solo SE V2 twin tuner dvb-c
2. Xtrend 8500 Quad

1. Octagon sf4008 4K
2. Mutant HD
3. Vu+ uno 4K 1 x DVB-C FBC tuner

my questions are
f
1. am i correct in saying all above boxes will suit my needs
2. if i opted for one of the 4K boxes, i'm reading that i need to use oscam, will this still work with current line i have on my gemma star? i will be selling this to a mate but would hope that i can transfer my line over to the new setup
3. are the 4K boxes alot more hassle to setup ? if so i don't mind just getting the Vu+ solo SE V2 twin tuner dvb-c as there is not much 4K content out there anyway
4. im guessing the above boxes will have better performance tha n my Zgemma , is there much difference between the above in performance though or will i notice an improvement no matter which one i opt for ?
5. what about build quality / support / stability? are they all well suported?

many thanks

Qvic

Last edited:
Sorry have to disagree with the above buy the et8500 m8. Hdd slides in via a pull out tab 4 x plug n play tuners. Nice LCD display and on offer at the moment m8 4 cable tuners for around £250 ain't bad.

There's not much in 4K at the moment unless you want sly q

et8500 look fine
to be honest never used one

i have gone through most vu+ boxes