New Sky Skin coming soon...(BLUE HD 2)

Status
Not open for further replies.

kiddac

As a graphic designer I thought I would have a go at tidying up the old blue HD skin for openatv. There are so many things that could just be tidied up a little.

So here is my first screen (channel select). All new graphics. New Sky icons at the top. Amended Layout.

Before

Sky1-1392015-142.jpg

After

Sky1-1392015-1442.jpg

Last edited:
Getting there slowly. Took me hours working out how the epg colours worked. Graphical EPG 99% finished

Channel 4 HD-1492015-038.jpg

Looks tidy, can you try to make it faster?

Well that is the plan. The original skin used a different full screen background for most of the individual pages. I have just 1 main plain background, with all the individual elements backgrounds layered on top. Hopefully this will be quicker.
There also seems to be a hell of a lot of crap in that skin. Random code, random images. Maybe its needed, maybe it isn't... only time will tell. I am not actually writing mine over the top. I am writing afresh, just copying the code required for the section I am working on. Testing on my zgemma the graphics load pretty quick, the only delay on the epg is the data load. Graphic load seems fine.

I liked some of the blueHD skin but stuck with the fraggle121 one, why?

Font size for program now/next was too small - hard to see program names and could not seem to adjust that one
Fraggle121 tells you how many mins left/elapsed
The green colour change to show you how much of the program had elapsed was too close to the yellow background and hard to see
Like the way Fraggle one shows program description for now/next too.
When you hit left/right to bring up the small EPG it didn't fill the screen unlike Fraggle121

Things I really liked about BlueHD...
the weather doesn't appear when you hit OK twice blocking out the top of the screen - don't care about weather, got a phone app for that