No Auth box keeps showing on all channels.

Hi, newbie here, hope you can help me. I've done a number of searches on google this but can only find 2 posts on it which no-one has answered.

Right, so I bought a Openbox V8s about 6months ago whilst i still had Sky Q and decided i wouldn't renew my sky as never really watched it and would just use the V8s as a freesat box. Whilst I had my sky my dad then asked for the box and I gave it to him. Last month he gave it back saying that a "No Auth" message was showing on the channels. My sky now ended and i plugged it in and all channels are there but there is a black with red outline box with No Auth written on it. I think my dad had been messing about with software updates but no idea what he has done.

Ive gone to http://eopenbox.co.uk/firmware/ for the v8s and downloaded the firmware but when installing i get Software OEM ID mismatch.
Can't get rid of the No Auth black box but picture shows fine underneath it.
Anyone have any ideas what i need to do.
All i want to do is watch the freesat channels not interested in this IPTV etc just want to scan and watch the freesat.
Ive attached pics of whats showing and what the info says about the box.
Thanks
Jon

Attachments

• IMG_20180114_132058[1].jpg
    IMG_20180114_132058[1].jpg
    4.4 MB · Views: 46
  • IMG_20180114_132135[1].jpg
    IMG_20180114_132135[1].jpg
    4.6 MB · Views: 49
When I used to flash my Openboxes, genuine and clone, I had to use an RS232 cable together with a Prolific PL2303 usb serial adapter. Any other method of connecting via usb never worked!

Ask the reaper, he’ll confirm what you need

Last edited:
Note---openbox will not work if using sky Q lnb.
If on normal lnb then first put your box back to factory setting.
Now disconnect all cables from box.
Ensure you have correct null modem cable/null modem + prolific usb.
Download and install the correct ali 3511 upgrade tool-----this is the correct one for V8s.