Questions relating to cable boxes?

channelking

Hi Im new to the cable forum on here, I have been on the satellite forum for a little while and due to the issues with the HD channels I have come to the cable forum. I hope the questions I will ask, that the great members with knowledge on cable boxes here can help me as I am confused about these boxes.

1. How different is the setup compared to satellite boxes?

2. I have been told by a few people not only can you get just cable boxes but you can get combo boxes which I wasn't aware of it. What are combo boxes?

3. Is it possible to get 3D and ppv channels on cable boxes?

4. What is the best budget cable box and what is the best high end cable box and what are the prices of such boxes? I have been told of there being many boxes but I havent got a clue which is good and which isnt.

Would really appreciate help on these questions as I really consider cable to now be an alternative.

Thanks but are all combo boxes freeview and sat or cable and sat?

Is the Amiko Mini Combo HD both cable and sat?

On that thread there are loads of boxes but I still dont know which is the best high end box. Which in your opinion is the best box? Is the Amiko combo HD the best budget box?

Also do the budget boxes have ppv and 3D channels?

Whats the setup for cable boxes? Do you need a cline and a nline? Where can get such a line as I assume you dont get gifts? All I see is requests for sat lines.

I know jack about combo boxes... Cactikid and bees will do that info..! But a kryptview...well.. You buy your box plug in your cable provider.(either vermin,telew,ntl etc..) Some bb and NO sub's... HD=250 and SD=150.... We don't get ppv anymore ( but bro we rinsed it with setanta and sly box office back in the day so can't complain..! Lol ). THE best budget box around..but must have correct null modem cable..!!

Ted I assume kryptview are just cable boxes. Isnt it a bit expensive for HD?