Vu box choice

bendyhoof

Hi guys, I've been looking through this forum for a couple of weeks gathering most of the info I need.
I'm in the same position as the rest of the newbie sat reciever crowd(fed up with s k y high prices :-( )
I'm a complete novice at this side of things but I'm willing to learn :-)
My needs are for the family room for a box that is capable of recording one and watching another channel so I'm going for a twin tuner which is fast and has a good reputation.
I've narrowed it to the vu+ solo 2 and the duo 2, I want a box I want to keep and not really want to upgrade after a month.
Can anyone tell me if it's worth the extra for the duo2 and what benefits are there? Is the solo2 a good and quick enough box?
Thanks

Any of the VU range is good and worth getting, they are a respected box but higher in price. As for upgrading that will be the software not the box. I've had a Xpeed LX2 for almost a year now and at £109 with 2 yr warranty its still doing me proud and does what I need and the software updates in the back ground as I run OpenVix and own a supported box.

I had the money then my choice would be the VU+ Duo2, I have a friend who has one and its a great box and I am will get one if some kind sole sells me one for a tenner, lol

Looks like you've done some good research so well done, glad to see a newbie learning and not asking stupid questions that have been asked and answered a million times (y)

VU boxes best on the market Also have a look at the Mut@nt range, noticed world of sat offering massive discounts on VU and Mut@nt range, you wont go wrong with either
box both have massive spec and quick processing speed with large storage , also if you have cable consider a combo box HD on Virmin side

Just got a duo 2 after having a v8s and zgemma have to say well pleased the speed of the box and picture quality are the best so far plus internal hdd and twin sat and cable tuners.

Thanks for the replies.