which box for a noob?

cdy

Hello all,
I've considered several boxes since I decided to take up the satellite hobby a couple of months back. My favourite, on paper, is the VU Duo, but, alas! I cannot afford it. So, for a complete newbie which, more affordable box, would be most suitable?

I like the look of the following because they all sound relatively simple to set up and user friendly:
DM800HD; BM7000; x403p hd; OpenBox s9 or s10?
Any comments, eg pros and cons, and/or additional suggestions, guys?

I'm looking for something user-friendly, relatively easy to set up and use, and the only additional function I want is time-shift so I can pause/rewind programmes if need be. Ideally I'd like an internal HDD but I can live with an external.
In terms of budget I can not go above £150. Opinion/views/advice, guys?

Many thanks

I use the spiderbox 9000 hd very good user friendly set up easy through the usb ports with memory stick PLUS FREE GIFT BIT OVER YOUR BUDGET BUT NOT DISSAPOINTING

Last edited:
hi cdy i am in the same boat been down the cable route now looking for satellite.Have dish from few years back with which i pick up freesat so any advice would be appreciated.Have been looking around the site but seem to be going in circles (or may have overlooked) but for a newbie to this its hard to digest (getting old)
thanks

---------- Post added at 03:33 PM ---------- Previous post was at 03:28 PM ----------

thanks for that bazza 8952 but finding an outlet that sells them is proving difficult (nice with free anything!)

---------- Post added at 03:38 PM ---------- Previous post was at 03:33 PM ----------

Googled and found it
thanks again for the advice

I'm in the same proverbial boat, Sprayer. I've been visiting for 2 months now as a guest and I'm still pretty much clueless! I think one needs a Ph.D in satellite technology to understand much of the stuff in the tutorials/guides online!