zGemma naming?

stu22

I'm new to zGemma stuff and I'm absolutely confused by their hardware names.

For instance, I buy the 'new' H2H only to find out is is the old 'Star' H2H?

People tell me the old H2H is better than the new H2H....What??

What does the initial H mean, High Def?
Does the '2' mean Twin Tuner?
Does the latter H mean 'Hybrid'?

So does H2H mean....

High Definition Twin Tuner Hybrid?

What a ******* mess.

I've posted this list in another thread, so I've just copied it here as it seems logical to do so.
The range of the receivers are all ZGemma Star. Then the model numbers are as follows:

LC = 1x cable
H1 = 1x cable, 1x sat
H2 = 1x cable/terrestrial, 1x sat
S = 1x sat
2S = 2x sat
H.S = Dual-Core, 1x sat
H.2S = Dual-Core, 2x sat
H.2H = Dual-Core, 1x cable/terrestrial, 1x sat

There shouldn't be a Star H2H and a non-Star H2H afaik.

The newer H. Models aren't star that's for the older models

Zgemma star lc= 1x cable
Zgemma star H1 = 1x cable, 1x sat
Zgemma star H2 = 1x cable/terrestrial, 1x sat
Zgemma star S = 1x sat
Zgemma star 2S = 2x sat
Zgemma H.S = Dual-Core, 1x sat
Zgemma H.2S = Dual-Core, 2x sat
Zgemma H.2H = Dual-Core, 1x cable/terrestrial, 1x sat

So would you say it was true that the cable tuner in the newer H boxes are weaker than the previous Star edition?

I've had a H2 and a H2H. Personally for me - I can't see any difference between them.

Some people complain of glitching on the H2H. Unfortunately, a lot of the time though it's been down to mg_cfg so it makes that hard to judge.

And what do you know, my H2H doesn't have the Star branding! Never noticed before!

Some people complain of glitching on the H2H. Unfortunately, a lot of the time though it's been down to mg_cfg so it makes that hard to judge.

I have glitching on FTA though, so changing cam settings makes no difference.

Is the H2 much slower than the H2H?