assistance but not spoon fed

Pablo317

ok , guys - new to this , and starting to pick up some jargon , but more fumbling about rather than structured , epg and c/line or n/line , so im not pissing anyone off asking stupid things like what's 28.2 ( ps what is 28.2 :-)) ?

is there a FAQ or glossary , that will tell me the basics and explain the acronyms - like i say , dont want spoon fed , but this would help me initailly.

I'm not aware of any "jargon buster" but someone may know of one. I learned all the lingo just by reading posts, guides and asking questions. Don't be afraid to ask a question in simple terms, not knowing the jargon wont reduce the help you get and wont p!ss poeple off, we all start off not knowing anything (I'm still learning and asking questions).

To help you get started, 28.2 thats the satellite which broadcasts SkyUK TV signal, EPG is the Electronic Program Guide and a cline and nline are what you purchase so you can watch scrambled TV channels without having to pay sly, an internet connection is required for a working line.

Edit: As cactikid said, use the search feature before asking :)

Last edited:
reading posts and tuts for certain boxes help us as we dont want 50 posts on the same question on the same subject which does happen all the time and has been answered 2 posts above.
search button can at times help to guide you.

guys , reading about as suggested , but can you advise ( if allowed) do you still need a c line or n line if you have a cable feed already ? am i right in thinking you need to pay subs - only if you have no cable connection
cheers

You will need an internet connection to run any box these days.

The KV A780 (cable) is pretty much the only box that you can get that doesn't require a sub these days.

Generally, a cable box will require VM broadband plus a sub.

A sat box any broadband plus a sub.

ok , cheers for clearing that up guys. my only experience is the a780 and that didnt need a sub. thats why the confusion.