Best Sky like experience for a total noob

Mainly for my elderly relatives, BT sports and 3pm kick off's included and a few Asian channels like Star Plus

From what I understand, I have to buy a box. My 3 options are
  • Zgemma
  • Formuler
  • Mag box
So I get one of these boxes, then what? I'd want reliable services and the best quality possible (I have an OLED TV and it's unforgivable on poor sources)

Last edited by a moderator:
Mainly for my elderly relatives,
I have an OLED TV and it's unforgivable on shitty sources)
So is it for you or your elderly relatives?

Magbox is IPTV only and isn't a sky experience due to the layout
Zgemma H7S or H7C is a very fast box
Formuler can be a fast box depending on which one your buy.
Both boxes can run a sky look-alike theme

Do they have a satellite dish? Who is there ISP?

Last edited:
So is it for you or your elderly relatives?

Magbox is IPTV only so isn't a sky experience
Zgemma H7S or H7C is a very fast box
Formuler can be a fast box depending on which one your buy.

Do they have a satellite dish? Who is there ISP?

We live together, I don't watch TV only blu-rays and on demand shows, they however couch surf :) The joys of retirement

So Magbox is out of the question then I take it? When you mean IPTV only, aren't all services IPTV
In terms of fast, as long as it matches the speed of Sky+ HD boxes I don't mind.

We have a Sky satellite dish, and ISP is with Sky too, Fibre.

OK so instantly you can receive freesat channels through your sat dish. No, not all services are IPTV. If you are with virgin for an ISP you can still get all the channels.

So you need a sat box (Zgemma H7S or H92S) or formuler box the same.
A sky skin
An IPTV provider for the channels you can no longer get from your satellite dish

There are lots of premade images you can install on whatever box you decide to buy which already have the sky skin available.