Buy H2 online with gift or make my own

Hi guys

Noob here, but consider myself technical in electronics, software etc

I have researched about dreamboxes for a while when my friend told me all i needed was a sky cable from a dish and internet connection, this was a few years ago.

I decided to get sky installed recently just to get access to the dish and cable, its only £10 a month.

I have done a lot of research and found dreamboxes are old, and be led to the H2 box.

So I have the internet connection, coincidently from virgin and also the sky satellite connection.

I found someone who sells ready to go boxes and gave me helpful information, and told me I have 3 options:

1: Sky connection but not all channels are HD

2: I was told I can use the Virgin line, so long as I have virgin internet active which I do, I was told I can get all the channels HD, just not sky atlantic

3: I can have both sky and virgin simultaneously through the H2 box, but it would cost more as I would need 2 gift subscriptions

I was told for box with one gift was around £150, £200 for both sky and virgin gifts. I think a bot more for a hard drive.

My other option is to buy the box for around £80, and try install everything myself.

Would I save much money doing it myself? or are the prices I have been given reasonable?

If I do it my self could anyone point me the direction of getting both sky and virgin running, or just suggest what the best option is then im sure i can find the info on this forum

Thanks

It seems like you have done your homework on what can be done.
Personally I would buy the box and line separately as you tend to learn more about the workings of the Box when you are setting it up yourself and its cheaper. The guys who sell the whole package are obviously putting on their margin.