Moving from SKY+HD Box

matt007

Hi guys. I have made the decision to move over to a linux based box because I can no longer put up with Sky constantly increasing their prices. Which box do you recommend me to buy? My family don't want to move because of the Sky EPG and general ease of use, so the following are my requirements and I would appreciate it if someone can recommend me a suitable box and where to get it from:

Box must:
- have a good EPG, as close to my Sky+ HD as possible
- ease of use for family
- have ability to record a channel whilst watching another
- have good HD picture quality
- built in wifi

I am not a beginner when it comes to tech and programming etc so don't mind a good box that is a bit of a challange to set up.

Hope you guys can help. Thanks :-)

twin Tuner boxes are starting around £170 mark upwards then you would need to add the price of a HDD. That will get you a FTA box. If you want subscripted channels then a Sub would have to be purchased on top. HD channels on subs are no longer available for the time being. But the picture quality on SD channels is far better on linux boxes that your original sky+HD box as the sky box blurs then so you pay for HD from then.

I have a lot of HDDs lying around so I will use one of those. Like I said I am flexible on the budget. Any specific box that fits my requirement? Also where can I get a reliable sub?

Budget is too low.

Closest you could get is a zgemma s2, external usb harddrive, wifi adapter this would hit your budget (this is exclusing a tv sub and you can't get hd channels anymore)

Why do you need wifi just run a cable it's not difficult

Personally I would just set a budget of £250 and build a htpc it will destroy any box you can buy.

Budget is too low.

Closest you could get is a zgemma s2, external usb harddrive, wifi adapter this would hit your budget (this is exclusing a tv sub and you can't get hd channels anymore)