Noob here, questions about the old folk's streaming box

Hi All, I have european parents, and they are using a streaming box , at the front is "zge ma H2H", and has Open ATV on it. When they switch it on, it automatically goes ono to one of the many european channels (last one they were watching) that is in the main "bouquet". It does occasionally freeze.

Im sorry to ask you these - perhaps this isn't the right forum for these noob questions.

Is this set up what is known as IPTV? From other posts, I see other words bandied around ( Android / Sat/ Cable ) - I sometimes wonder if Open ATV is a flavour android, or is an application on Android which automatically starts.

So, regarding the occasional freezing: is the box of a low quality(cpu / ram) n, or is their (talktalk) broadband not up to scratch - perhaps a bit of both? Or maybe open ATV is not the best?

They are looking for another one for the sitting room. If I wanted to get exactly the same environment( open atv) . I've been reading stuff about firestick - can this be set up just like this ZGE box, and be as good, if not better? They are quite old, so it can't be anything fancy.

Thanks guys. Sorry if there's too many questions.

The zgemma H2h can handle Cable, Satellite and IPTV, so it could be any of these, when you say European, which country are they in? Cable is only really available in the UK, but satellite is pretty much worldwide as is IPTV, as a general rule, if they're getting Sky Sports channels, they're not likely to be on Satellite

Openatv is an operating system on the box, like windows or linux on a computer.
Openatv (there are others) can be loaded onto lots of boxes but not firesticks or other Android devices, it's not required