NOOB requires help with updating firmware & cclines on Open Box S10

I'm so sorry but I dont know where to really start. I have been given an OpenBox S10 (without a remote) and one that you can no longer views chanells on, i guess as they have expired. I am totally new to all this. I have tried googling and come accross lots of videos on updating firmware or cclines. I have not even switched my box on yet, however my questions are 1. do i need to update the firmware? The last firmware update is 2 yrs old, so possibly not? but i need to check this on my device, then I guess I am looking for simple instructions on updating the firmware.
No i understand to get the chanells I need to add cc lines? from a server that works? I guess i need to be pointed in the right direction, where to get active CClines and how to add them into the box, although i have seen the instructions here "Adding CClines to your openbox" so i presume i follow those instruction, (Once i have the cclines that is) Finally do i add anything in addition to get the chanells. SO sorry Im sure you get Noobs like me all the time, but I'm totally new, but can follow instructions, so appreciate your help. Will buy a remote control online but can the menu be operated from the box till i get one? many thanks in advance

Unlike some of the newer models, the S10 has front panel buttons that you can use to navigate through the menus & channels.

As it's an old model, there are no new firmwares for it. Before looking to see if there are any later ones, just use the firmware that's on the box for now & see how it goes. You may not need to change it.