Recommend a box

Noste500

I'm looking to replace / upgrade my openbox V5S.
i would like something that caters for the following:
record one channel and watch another channel at the same time. ( I have a seperate hd for this )
it would help if the "epg" ( excuse me if my terminology is wrong as I'm a newbie ) was a similar format to sky.
i don't mind setting it up as long as there is some decent guides I can locate to do so ;-)

if someone could post a link or pm me a good place to buy from that would be helpfull also . Support will be important to keep me going in the correct direction.
budget for box is £100 .
What are the advantages of spending more on a box ?

thanks in advance .

Read this thread: http://www.techkings.org/general-satellite-discussion/67905-box-beginner-budget-40-100-a.html

This member asked the same questions as you, his budget was £100 max so was pointed towards the zgemma Star 2 box but if you can afford alittle more then World of Satelliteis doing the Xpeed LX2 for £109. You will also need a decent sized external HDD or USB drive to store your recording's on as nither come with internal storage (get them from fleabay).

Both boes will run Vix image but the zgemma is not supported by the Vix team but the Xpeed LX2 is. Both will use the Sky Skin or Blue HD which will give you that sky TV look, both are good boxes and both are twin tuner so you can record 1 channel while watching another.

There are other boxes too but are more expensive so for cost either of these boxes will do you well.

Last edited:
Thanks for the reply , has the xpeed got a better spec than the zgemma or is it maybe better for me due to the support side of things ?
cheers

---------- Post Merged at 06:49 PM ----------

Also if required , can these boxes be used with a 3G mifi dongle ?

xspeed will leave the zgemma standing and can run true vix image and online update,might have to use their wifi dongle.

Ordered a xpeed box . Will I need a c line or n line for this box ?