Update Crashes H2H openATV 5.3 - Could use a little help please

Hi there, super exerience to date with H2H box with provider supplier openATV installed.

Did an update end of November which worked a treat (47 updates applied)

Did same again yesterday (57 updates available) and it bombed out and said 'restarting in 10 seconds'....it never restarted.

Powered off & on and came back red LED and BOOT...then froze.

I've managed to get everything up & working with help but what did I do wrong?

Is there a problem updating the 5.3 version? .... any alternative ways to update without damaging the build? Bit out of my newbie depth ... would appreciate any help to get the box updated successfully.

Cheers

There was an issue with opkg that can't be fixed via ota updates so needs to be flashed via a newer image so if you reflashed a nightly version you should be fine

Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk

ive had the same issue not sure what to do next as I'm new to this stuff,ive read on here that I need to flash it but could do with some advice.Thanks in advance

Same here....that much I managed. You need to download the build (think it's called) ..... expand it on a laptop and install to a clean USB.

Then power off the box

Stuff the USB stick with the build for Zegmma in the rear of the box and power back up .... it applied the flash straight away and takes very little time

Depending on how you bought the box, your seller might give you the build or I would imagine there will access to ones like openATV on this site from folks a lot more knowledgeable than me.

Works very well in fact...not so complicated.
I'm led to believe that this update problem is quite common. Is why I've posted and asked how to do proper backups just as well :)

Thanks for the advice dsayers2014.

Understand your point but not how to do it.