Which box for a beginner on a budget of £40 - £100?

armie79

Hi there, looking for some help. Which box is the best for a beginner?

I have left a list of requirements below:-

1) Easy to operate
2) As close to Sky EPG as possible
3) Easy to setup
4) Reliable
5) Able to record one channel and watch another

Is this possible on the budget I have? I already have a 8GB USB stick so the £100 max is for the box.

I have been reading the threads but still a bit puzzled with all the abbreviations and jargon used etc. For example "VIX IMAGE". Can you explain this please?

As much as I am new to this, I am pretty good at picking things up once explained.

Thanks.

vix image is an operation system program for enigma2 boxes,pcs can be xp w7/w8 and now 10 lol,wont mention vista .

Best box based on your budget would be the Zgemma Star 2s can be picked up for around £75 and can be installed with the latest vix image from the zgemma.tv website. I currently purchased this box and it is a great box as it is a twin tuner so recordings work great. I see you stated you have a 8GB USB, but if you are wanting to record you will need to invest in a portable hard drive.

...or a larger usb stick. I put 16gb for most people and as long as u delete when watched is o.k. but I use 500gb drives at home. Also portable hard drives place more stress on the box usb port so drives with their own power supply are recommended over portable.
And zgemma 2s is only box that meets all ur requirements. Great wee boxs.

Last edited:
Get the zgemma Star 2 from fleabay, about £70, get a 32GB USB stick too, they are around £8 and once its all arrived goto the downloads section and download and install the backup image by sucmnsee, this will have you up and running in no time at all, the box configured to recieve your channels and with the sky skin all installed. The just add your cline/nline and your veiwing all the channels.